Lift up your eyes to the Maker

Psalm 121

I lift up my eyes to the mountains –
    where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord,
    the Maker of heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot slip –
    he who watches over you will not slumber;
indeed, he who watches over Israel
    will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord watches over you –
    the Lord is your shade at your right hand;
the sun will not harm you by day,
    nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all harm –
    he will watch over your life;
the Lord will watch over your coming and going
    both now and for evermore.

These past few weeks, past few months, actually few years, there has been a noticeable loss of peace in our world, our country, our city, whichever one that may be. There have been rumors of wars ( and actual wars), there have been natural disasters, there has been rage and anger and shock and numbness and grief and sorrow , when we’ve heard of the next shooting, the next revenge murder(s), the next untimely death, the next hurricane, the next earthquake, the next hostage situation, the next terror. When does it stop? Where does it end? How do we wake up to face another new terror? What do we say to our kids? How can we encourage our spouses?

By ourselves, we can’t, that’s the thing. We need hope , and love and joy and peace, most of all , we need peace. The Giver of Peace says “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27). But how can we not be afraid? He says nothing will harm us, but there are altogether real things that can (and do) harm us and hurt us and injure us and kill us. Does that make Him less real? Does that make Him a liar? Do we (can we?) reconcile the Bible with what’s happening?

We can. When we realise that whatever happens to our bodies here on earth, there is a very real place  where we will be given new and perfect bodies, where there will be no sorrow, no more tears and no more death .  {“He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death”[a] or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.’ (Rev 21:4) }.

Sometimes though this isn’t enough, to look ahead, when today, and tomorrow, there is constant sorrow. I don’t have the answers. Some days I am filled with so much hopelessness , I can’t stop crying. Some days I can confidently believe He holds my tears and sees my sorrow, and will avenge me ( you, us, them). I can only point you to the Prince of Peace and pray that is enough.

2 thoughts on “Lift up your eyes to the Maker

Leave a Reply

