Guest post by Kailee Diaz.

I first read posts by Kailee Diaz when it came across my feed and I’ve loved the way she writes. Her love for Christ and her passion to disciple people come across in a very real way. One of her posts that really ministered to me is A daughter of the King. She writes good advice to those who want to write or are in the process of writing, you can read a sample here. This is the first guest writer on here and I hope that will be the start of many more. I pray that you will be blessed as you read Kailee’s take on worship in her life.

 

“Kailee Diaz is a Christian historical-romance author. She posts to her site (www.kaileediaz.com) throughout the week on topics of faith and love in hopes that she shines a light on enduring truth. 

kaileediaz
Kailee Diaz

Kailee is a pastor’s kid, with generations of preachers in her family line. Through their lives, she’s witnessed the legacy faith leaves behind and hopes to share just a glimpse of this within her writing. She’s now a happily married wife to a wonderful husband. Together, they reside in Ohio and love serving their local church. She seeks to leave a legacy for future tales to be told and hopes you’ll join her in the wonderment of God’s faithfulness on this journey through life.” 

 

As obedient children, do not be conformed to the former lusts which were yours in your ignorance,  but like the Holy One who called you, be holy yourselves also in all your behavior; because it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

1 Peter 1:14-16

Worship is much more than church singing on Sunday. It’s a lifestyle—a privileged choice by which we get to come before the Father and say “my life is yours.” That’s why Peter describes Christian behavior as holy. Who we follow is depicted by how we live.

If you ask most Christians, holiness describes God, not us. It’s not something we feel portrays the flawed lives we live. And yet, it is the very thing that Scripture says we obtain from Christ.

Check out what Paul says in Galatians 5:24:

Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.

So what does a crucified life look like in a modern world?

Well, I would dare to say it’s a life of sacrifice. We’re choosing to give up everything and anything that embraces less than holy. That sounds radical, doesn’t it?

For me, that means I’m careful about the television shows and movies I let into my life. I choose to view what seems honoring to Him. I also use God’s name with dignity, not flippantly or without intention. I make church a priority, and I seek to love people with compassion.

Now that isn’t an exhaustive list, but holiness is a lifestyle of worship where we have chosen to place God first and foremost.

Let me paraphrase a verse from 2 Timothy 4:7:

Fight the good fight, finish the course, keep the faith.

That’s your calling if you know Christ. Every generation of believers has a mission. My father once told me each Christian decides where to set his morals. With the passing of generations, the bar often moves lower. We live a life of worship to keep the faith, to preserve it, to represent God’s holiness in a lost world. And today, you can decide where you’ll set that bar for worship. Are you seeking Christ’s holiness or your own moral code?

Well I hope you loved that. My prayer for you is that worship becomes a lifestyle for you. Whatever you say and do will be a reflection of Him, and that will be your witness to the world. I generally add a song to my posts, and while this is Kailee’s post, I’m going to add a new favourite 🙂  See you next week,

Love

Vanessa.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Guest post by Kailee Diaz.

Leave a Reply

