When life happens.

These past few weeks, my son has had an ear infection, I went to a women’s conference, dealt with many sleepless nights because of said son, made cookies for my daughter because her friends from school kept asking her to bring in some, took the cars for servicing and oil change ,and I stayed up last night till 12 to make cakes for my son’s birthday .

Life happened.

When I started this blog, I decided I needed to use my gift of writing to glorify Him. I looked up writers who had great advice to market my blog and I knew then, that at this season of life, I cannot devote the time and energy required. I decided to write, and start being regular about it, making time to write everyday/ every week. For the most part it worked. My husband and I worked out a system to give me the time I needed to devote here.

But these last few weeks, I knew I was running out of scheduled posts, but….. things were chaotic as well. I either had time to go back to the basics. Spend time with Him. Learn to live in His presence. Read His Word. Study it. Worship Him.  This apart from my daily obligations and responsibilities with my family.

OR…………..

Work on this blog. Don’t get me wrong. I love writing here. I love putting my words down “on paper” This clears up space in my head and I think up new things. And I have. I have at least 12 drafts, and some of them I know what I want to write and exactly what it’ll consist of. It’s just all in my head though! 🙂  I also take my time writing and so it takes me anywhere from 5-10 hours finishing a post.

Like I said, I knew my scheduled posts were running out and I had to make a decision on what to focus on. So I chose Him. I’m learning to live in grace. I’m teaching myself to turn to Him all the time, my thoughts, my words, my actions, my emotions. I’m trying to make reading His Word, the first intentional thing I do each day. So these last few chaotic weeks, I haven’t worked as much as I need to on my blog and it shows. I hope to bring out more posts and quite soon, but if I can’t right away, I’m giving myself grace and not going to wallow in guilt.

He who knows my heart controls the world. He is in charge. He will prevail. He will bring me through this. He will  be with you.

Dear friend,

Rest in His goodness, learn to live in grace, give up the guilt and condemnation. Some times life happens, and it is all right not to have everything together, but come back to the One Who Does. He sees your heart.

Until next time,

Vanessa

 

4 thoughts on “When life happens.

Add yours

  1. Great Blog! We live in world of such distractions and we are carefully taught that we should seek to accomplish our goals. Yet our goal should be to spend time with God. When we spend time with Him, the other comes naturally. I find that when I spend time in His word, and listening to Him, that the words for my blog tumble onto the page with ease. How blessed we are to have a Father who loves us so much that He provides us with talents to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You made the right choice. We can’t always keep everything perfectly balanced, so we must remember those things which “weigh” more (like parenting) are heavier for a reason. Looking forward to when those rough drafts make it finished posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

