Guest post by Vanessa A Harris.

Awhile ago I started asking other bloggers to write guest posts on worship for me. It’s something that I’ve become more and more aware of these past few months. What percentage of my day/ week/  month / year do I give to God? How often do I think of Him? How often would I assume He’s not interested in the nitty -gritty of my life? How often do  I strive to be near Him? In speaking to Liv and Monica, I’ve become convinced worship of my Saviour needs to be constant, daily, all the time, everywhere. So in keeping with that, I’ve asked other writers (who are in different seasons of their lives with different obligations ) to tell us what that looks like for them. Some of those posts are Guest post by Kailee Diaz and Guest post by Carole Sparks.

I’d like to introduce you to my sister (in Christ ), Vanessa 🙂 Apart from the common name, our lives and life experiences are very similar, but what she’s written here in this post is so very different from what I would have imagined. Vanessa is the author of Daddy’s Girl Forever and she has a boutique where she sells clothing with Christian themes/ words on it. Right now her favorite is “Jesus is everything”. If you are interested, please click on the links provided. If not, continue reading 🙂

These days Vanessa is in a lifestyle of worship where she remembers what God has done for her everyday. What constitutes worship for her may not do so for you, or you may not have thought of it as worship. That’s all right. My goal with these different guest posts is to hopefully expand what worship means to you and/ or give you different view points on what worship means to us. All of the writers I’ve asked are intentionally seeking Him in their daily life, they aren’t relegating Jesus just to Sunday mornings or maybe Wednesday evenings as well. My prayer is that you will seek Him daily too.

VANESSA A. HARRIS, M.D., M.S. is a writer, blogger, and poet, the wife of Mark, and the

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Vanessa Harris

mother of their three amazing children.  She’s a pediatrician and preventive medicine physician turned stay at home mom and writer.  Through her writing, she encourages living by grace through faith.  Read more from her at vinelifefaith.com.  

 

 

 

 

TABLE WORSHIP

When someone says ‘worship;’     prayer, with an open bible, and worship music playing softly in the background, may come to mind. While they’re all necessary, there’s another element to worship I’ve enjoyed daily for several months—receiving Communion.

I thought you could only do that at church, after the Pastor prayed over the bread and the cup?

I used to think so too. On the day of Pentecost, after the Apostle Peter preached, about 3000 came to faith in Christ and from then on, “they continued steadfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in prayers; doing so from house to house (see Acts 2: 41-42, 46).” Prayer, diving into the Word and celebrating the Lord’s Supper occurred regularly in homes in the early Church. The concept of relegating Communion to the four walls of a church building is a tradition born of convenience, not Scripture.

I believe Communion has a place in personal and corporate worship.

In simplest terms, we worship what we hold in high regard. Communion commemorates Jesus’ one sacrifice for sins, forever. In receiving Communion, we honor Jesus’ saving work on the cross. We celebrate the act central to our faith, where new life in Christ began.

It’s no wonder Jesus said these words to His disciples at the last supper, “For as often as you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death till He comes (1 Cor 11:26, emphasis added).”

As often” is up to each of us. I find strength in rehearsing the significance of His sacrifice daily; remembering the price Jesus paid for my freedom, the passion behind it, the power in it, and the permanence of it!

RELATED POST : Guest post by Carole Sparks.

Coming to the table every morning to receive Communion starts my day off with a victory mindset. I’m coming to a table prepared for me in the presence of my enemies (Psalm 23:5), because when Jesus said, “It is finished,” He declared He won.

Jesus overcame all sickness, diseases and infirmities with the breaking open of His body at the whipping post. Enforcing the word that by His stripes I am healed (Isaiah 53:5, 1 Peter 2:24).

Jesus destroyed the power of condemnation in my life; taking my sin, guilt, shame, and judgment on Himself (Romans 8:1 NIV, Galatians 3:13, Hebrews 10: 11-22). He drowned them all in His sinless blood.

Jesus thoroughly disarmed the devil, neutralizing every weapon he forms against me (Colossians 2:15). Because Jesus won, by faith, so did I.

The times we’re living in with its pace and pressures, distract and trip us up. Starting the day in worship grounds me. Focusing on the Father’s love and grace demonstrated in Jesus on the cross, as a part of worship, puts everything in perspective. I don’t know what a given day holds, but I know God is greater, He’s for me and my victory is certain!

*All Scripture, unless otherwise noted is the NKJV.

 

 

When you take the Lord’s Supper, do you remember the sacrifice and atonement that He paid for you? Share with me what you think of Vanessa’s post and how worship is a part of your lifestyle.

With thanks,

Vanessa S.

12 thoughts on “Guest post by Vanessa A Harris.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

