Righteousness, in Him, because of Him.

Righteousness isn’t something that would have bothered me some time ago. And as much as it bothers me now, it’s more that it unsettles me. I know and believe that I am a sinner, have been, always will be, it’s my nature. I know and believe that ONLY GOD is righteous, holy, pure, blameless, without sin, in whom there cannot be any sin, there never will be, it’s His nature. I also know and believe that He cannot abide unrighteousness in His presence, and so to make me clean, He sent His Son, who was without sin, to take on bodily form and my sin upon Him. I know this. I believe it. I’ve gladly accepted His sacrifice. I’m relieved sometimes, knowing He paid it for me. I’m saddened sometimes , by the hefty price demanded of Him, which He gave willingly. I’m sorrowful, that so many people won’t or can’t or don’t want to accept this for themselves. But I’m unsettled too. I keep trying to “do” things right, or the say the right things, trying, in vain, to become “more” righteous, knowing all the while, that “I” can’t do it. So why am I unsettled? I’m not sure. Sometimes I’m in awe of the work that He has done for me, and how easy it was to accept Him , ( though the life after hasn’t been easy all the time, but always been filled with His peace and His comfort), but also I’m trying desperately to remember that it wasn’t “me”, it’s all Him.

Anyway, that’s me. I wanted to continue on God’s names. That’s a topic/subject/study that has been with me for the better part of several years. I first heard sermons on it while I was a teenager, in India. I’ve heard pastors talk on many of His names, through the years, and right now I’m listening to two different bible studies on them. It doesn’t get boring. It’s becoming more and more real, more and more personal, and I’m finding that as much as I want to share what I learned with you, I don’t have all the words!

RELATED POST: Adonai, Master and Yahweh, LORD.

So…. I’ve been looking at different articles on the web, wondering if any would give me the start that I need. I want to tell you, at the start, that most of this article isn’t my voice. Others have studied, have written and made concise what’s been floating around in my head, so I’ve copied that/those articles here.

One of the few things that I wanted to mention about Jehovah ( Yahweh/YHWH) Tsidkenu , was something called “the law of first mentions” in the Bible. The first instance is in Jeremiah 23:6 (NIV)6 In his days Judah will be saved
and Israel will live in safety.
This is the name by which he will be called:
The Lord Our Righteous Savior., referring to the Saviour and the second is in            Jeremiah 33:16 (NIV)16 In those days Judah will be saved
and Jerusalem will live in safety.
This is the name by which it[a] will be called:
The Lord Our Righteous Savior.’, where it refers to the city of Jerusalem.

Jehovah is actually YHWH ( see Yahweh in Adonai, Master and Yahweh, LORD..) and means Lord and Master. It is the promised and proper name of God. Tsidkenu means justice, rightness, righteousness, deliverance, victory, and prosperity. Used together Jehovah Tsidkenu means The Lord Who Is Our Righteousness. God himself stands for us and provides us with His righteousness and justice when we don’t have any in ourselves. He is the one who provides victory and our prosperity.

Jeremiah prophesied at a time of rampant wickedness and evil in the land. The king Zedekiah ( meaning “Jehovah is righteousness”) whose name had been changed from Mattaniah (“gift of God”) by Nebuchadnezzar, but who failed to live up to his new name. Jeremiah let the people know ( on God’s command, since he was a true prophet), that God himself would be the Righteousness of the people, of the nation, of the world. These two instances were meant to bring peace and comfort to those who heard it. It probably did, to those few who trusted in His word, and opened their hearts to Him, and now I pray it brings peace to you, if you are looking for it.

This is one of those articles that I loved.http://donotdepart.com/jehovah-tsidkenu-the-lord-our-righteousness#comment-50494

Jesus, Pilate and Job all presented questions in Scripture that every heart must answer:

And he ( Jesus) asked them,”But who do you say that I am?” (Mark 8:29)

Pilate said to them, “Then what shall I do with Jesus who is called Christ?”  (Matthew 27:22)

“How then can man be righteous before God?” (Job 25:4)

Today, while we will concentrate on Job’s question, we will consider all three. 

Just on the heels of dealing with the sin of the unfaithful priest, in Jeremiah 23:6 Jehovah introduced Himself by a brand new name…Jehovah-Tsidkenu. It’s only used one other time in Scripture and is also tucked in the pages of Jeremiah (Jeremiah 33:16).  It is a name God gives Himself and a name He gives His children

Jeremiah was speaking to a nation whose king was wicked. His name was Zedekiah, which means Jehovah is Righteous. His original name was Mattaniah (Gift of God) but when Nebuchadnezzar,  made him king, he changed his name to Zedekiah.

It was a familiar story. God had blessed His people but it didn’t take long before they had turned their backs on Him and began to sin.

God’s eyes were not blind to Zedekiah’s wickedness and He told him through Jeremiah the prophet, “I myself will fight against you with outstretched hand and strong-arm, in anger and in fury and in great wrath.” (Jeremiah 21:5)

God’s eyes were not blind to His children’s sin either and in Jeremiah 32:30, God declares, “For the children of Israel and the children of Judah have done nothing but evil in my sight from their youth. “

In both Scripture references where God uses the name, Jehovah-Tsidkenu, He gives us an astounding parallel. He is our merciful God who delights in His people and chooses to bring redemption, restoration and righteousness to His wayward children.

  • In the first mention (Jeremiah 23:6) God promises to exchange the one who should have lived up to his name as a righteous king who trusted Jehovah (Zedekiah) with THE LORD WHO IS OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS. That promise was fulfilled in Jesus Christ who the Bible states – is our righteousness (1 Corinthians 1:30, 2 Corinthians 5:21, Philippians 3:9). Jesus is the New Testament fulfillment of the Old Testament name, Jehovah-Tsidkenu – In contrast to Zedekiah (the unrighteous king), Jesus is the Righteous King who is also our righteousness.
  • The second mention (Jeremiah 33:16) is to change the whole nation from wayward and wicked hearts and give them a new heart as well as a new name, Jehovah-Tsidkenu. Because of Christ, we can become just as righteous as He is. Just as the nation was named Jehovah-Tsidkenu, He names us the same.
Isaiah 64:6 tells us…
“But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousness are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.”
But because Jesus has become our righteousness, when we receive Him, we become as righteous as He is in our Heavenly Father’s site. We put on His robe of righteousness (Isaiah 61:10) and when the Living God looks at us, He sees us just as perfect and just as pure as He sees His Son (Romans 5:21).
Knowing that God is our righteousness is not only good news for the unbeliever who turns from their sin and turns to God through faith in Christ, but it is also good news for the believer, who like the children of Israel, sometimes find themselves wandering far from the One they love. Jehovah-Tsidkenu remains our righteousness – even when we aren’t behaving so righteously.
Who He is in us establishes us positionally though practically we may be acting otherwise. We remain righteous in His sight, even when we behave badly. Yet because He is in us, He changes the desires of our hearts to be righteous in deed, knowing that our righteousness came at oh-so great a cost and stems from oh-so great a love.
  • Job’s question has been answered by The LORD Our Righteousness. Only Jehovah-Tsidkenu can make a man righteous. But we must each personally answer the eternity-deciding questions posed by Jesus and Pilate.
  • Jesus asked…”But who do you say that I am?” (Mark 8:29) (Is He the Son of God – the Righteous One with Healing on His wings – the Christ?)
  • Pilate replied… “Then what shall I do with Jesus who is called Christ?”  (Matthew 27:22) (Have you let Him be your Righteousness? If not, will you?)

Have you answered those questions yet? How does knowing Jesus is our righteousness affect your day-to-day actions?

 

the-lord-is-our-righteousness

There are over 200 mentions of righteousness in the bible, these are just a few that are meaningful to me. Righteousness as related to people/kings/nations almost always relates to ruling in righteousness ( and justice and mercy), or living a righteous life because He is righteous. In essence, we/they/I are/am called to be different. To the right thing, even when it’s not popular or easy or convenient. To follow Him, to do His bidding, to fight off the carnal flesh, even when it takes everything we have. But….. again, we need to realise that “we ” can’t do it, but He can. He fills us with His righteousness and His goodness. He makes us clean. He makes us right with Him. He makes us as new.

Yes, He is The Lord our Righteousness .

2 Samuel 23:3 The God of Israel spoke, the Rock of Israel said to me: “When one rules over people in righteousness, when he rules in the fear of God,

1 Kings 10:9 Praise be to the Lord your God, who has delighted in you and placed you on the throne of Israel. Because of the Lord’s eternal love for Israel, he has made you king to maintain justice and righteousness.’
2 Chronicles 9:8 Praise be to the Lord your God, who has delighted in you and placed you on his throne as king to rule for the Lord your God. Because of the love of your God for Israel and his desire to uphold them for ever, he has made you king over them, to maintain justice and righteousness.’
Psalm 35:24 Vindicate me in your righteousness, Lord my God; do not let them gloat over me.
Isaiah 61:10 I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.
 
Romans 1:17 For in the gospel the righteousness of God is revealed – a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: ‘The righteous will live by faith.’
 
Romans 3:25 God presented Christ as a sacrifice of atonement, through the shedding of his blood – to be received by faith. He did this to demonstrate his righteousness, because in his forbearance he had left the sins committed beforehand unpunished
 

Romans 4:24 but also for us, to whom God will credit righteousness – for us who believe in him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead.
 

Romans 5:17 For if, by the trespass of the one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God’s abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ!
 

Romans 6:13 Do not offer any part of yourself to sin as an instrument of wickedness, but rather offer yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life; and offer every part of yourself to him as an instrument of righteousness.
 

Romans 14:17 For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit,
 

1 Corinthians 1:30 It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God – that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption.
 

2-cor-5-21-him-who-did-not-know-sin-he-made-sin-on-our-behalf-that-we-might-become-the-righteousness-of-god-in-him02
 

2 Corinthians 6:7 in truthful speech and in the power of God; with weapons of righteousness in the right hand and in the left;
 

Ephesians 4:24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.
 

Philippians 3:9 and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ – the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith.
 

2 Timothy 3:16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,
8 thoughts on “Righteousness, in Him, because of Him.

Add yours

  1. Hi Vanessa. It really DOES take faith to receive the gift of righteousness because we our flesh loves to earn and work for everything, so it has something to boast about. Isaiah made it clear that our righteousness is as useful as a used sanitary napkin (his words), so it’s clear “why” we need Jesus’ righteousness to have right standing with God.

    Just as we don’t receive salvation by works, righteousness is also a gift paid for with Jesus’ blood. The same blood He washed us in so we could even wear His robe. It’s hard to swallow; I have to choose to receive the gift daily, because my flesh wants to refuse it. But when I remember that life in Christ is a life of grace, not what’s deserved, it’s easier to receive ALL He died and rose to give me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know exactly what you mean about being unsettled about unrighteousness and I assure you that you are not alone. It bothers many Christians, it bothers me and it bothered the Apostle Paul. But please note that when you were not a Christian it didn’t bother you and that before you were reborn it didn’t bother you, at least not at all to the extent that it does now. Actually I think that the fact that it bothers you is actually a good thing, because it demonstrates that our humanity, ie our flesh, is actively being opposed by the Holy Spirit within us and the daily fight that we all go through is alive and well. It is when our unrighteousness DOESN’T bother you and you are saying you are a Christian, that you really should be worried. A Christian friend of mine who is now with the Lord used to say that the closer you get to God the more you realize how far away you are from Him. I’m not talking about distance, I’m talking about understanding our nature and understanding God’s nature. When you are increasingly bothered by your own unrighteousness it is a sign, an indication, that you are growing, growing in awareness, growing in appreciation, growing in understanding and growing in thankfulness. God’s Spirit is working in you. Like the Apostle Paul says in Romans 7:24-25 “O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? I thank God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!” Our awareness of our unrighteousness just makes us more aligned to our need for the Spirit of Jesus to increase in us and the flesh to diminish. Our awareness of our unrighteousness is an indication that God’s purpose is working in us as it should be. Blessings!

    Like

    1. “Our awareness of our unrighteousness is an indication that God’s purpose is working in us as it should be.” Thank you so much Bruce. My mentor and I are learning and re-learning this exact same thing. Thank you for your encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a comment to the website creator. I came to your Righteousness, in Him, because of Him. – christfollower85 page by searching on Google but it was hard to find as you were not on the front page of search results. I know you could have more visitors to your website. I have found a company which offers to dramatically improve your rankings and traffic to your site: http://maar.ch/92vdi I managed to get close to 500 visitors/day using their services, you can also get a lot more targeted visitors from Google than you have now. Their services brought significantly more traffic to my site. I hope this helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

